82-Year Old Grandmother gets her first tattoo for Charity

The Eastbourne Herald reported the story of 82 year old June Seccombe who got her very first tattoo, a blue butterfly on her wrist, this weekend at a charity event to raise Beast Cancer awareness.

“I thought it would hurt,” she told the Herald, “but it didn’t hurt a bit. They used some sort of numbing cream on me and I could hardly feel it. It wasn’t anywhere near as bad as I thought it would be.”

But what makes a woman in her eighth decade decided to plump for a tattoo? Well, whose idea it was differs depending on who you ask. The granddaughter says it was all her nan’s idea, while the pensioner herself was slightly less convinced. “We had talked about it but I thought it was the sort of thing I would never do,” she revealed.

“But then I got a call from her saying they were doing a charity day and that she had booked me in. I don’t regret it though. I think it looks really nice – my neighbours could not believe I had got one done but everyone seems to say they like it.”

“I might get another one,” she said, “maybe another butterfly. I am really pleased with it. When you are young you might have second thoughts because you are worried about having it for the rest of your life but when you get to my age you don’t need to think about that.”

Congrats on your first tattoo June – you’re never too old to get one!

About thehopeblog

www.hopegallerytattoo.com
This entry was posted in Charity, Randomness and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 82-Year Old Grandmother gets her first tattoo for Charity

  1. fridaamu says:

    Haha, that is really cool!

  2. Margaret Millar says:

    Are you June Seccombe who lived with Margaret in Greenford in the eighties?
    If you are I have been trying to find you for years.

  3. drnumb05 says:

    Good to see these things.Hope our parents too get understand us having a tattoo.
    http://www.drnumb.co.uk

Leave a Reply

